The new Winder and Compressor house was opened in 2010 and contains an exhibition dedicated to the story of Holman Brothers of Camborne.
During the 19th century Cornwall became the world’s leading centre for the development and manufacture of equipment for the mining industry. Holmans Bros patented their first drill in 1881 and continued to produce equipment until the 1990s.
Holman rock drills were internationally synonymous with mining: winning many competitions and holding a number of mining and tunnelling world
The displays contain illustrated boards, artefacts and pieces of original and in some cases, unique equipment, which demonstrate the wide range of Holman Brothers Ltd. interests and products.
Part of the Holman Rock Drill Collection is housed at KEM. The intention is to preserve, present and fully catalogue the collection for the benefit of the public.
Our new 'Croust Hut' cafe opens on Saturday 15th April 2017 in the newly restored Assay House and we will have an Easter Egg Hunt for all the family.
We start the summer with our Annual Open Day on Sunday 30th April 2017
King Edward Mine's specialist bookshop for Cornish mining and history books. See Shop for details.