We provide an insight into Cornwall's long mining heritage and (amongst the many exhibits) showcase the international history of Holman rock-drills. We have restored the building to house our original Holman winding machinery (for the headframe above the mineshaft).
We have some of the last equipment of it's kind remaining in the world, so it is our mission to preserve this and also interpret its importance for our visitors.
However, we are not all about the past, we are running a Saturday science club for children, hosting the international mining games for students from all over the world in 2018, and hosting lectures. We are open for innovative art projects, have an active archaeology project and manage the ecology of our wild lands (partly named as 'the Wastrels').
We have a gem of a specialist bookshop selling Cornish books on a variety of topics, but mostly history. We have up to 60 volunteers who guide our visitors, and contribute to the preservation and development of this unique site.
The reason why the buildings and their historic contents were preserved is because King Edward Mine was used as a teaching facility for the Camborne School of Mines (CSM) for almost 100 years from 1897 to 1984.
The museum and its artifacts are currently a valuable resource for local schools.